Reviews

What people are saying about Kethla House




fortnight in toyquay - Rating 5/5

/Don and Julie brilliant hosts.Room very comfortable,and breakfast more than adequate.Would we return? Yes most definately.

Reviewer:Peter Ewer | Sun 1st Oct 2017


Lovely B&B - Rating 5/5

Chose the Kethla because of the good reviews and we were\'nt disappointed! Don &Julie were great hosts and so friendly and helpful.We booked room 2 which was the large room.Bed was large and very comfortable.Julie cooked the breakfast each morning.Don was very helpful and entertaining!!You are both doing a good job.Hope to come to Devon in the future and would definitely stay at the Kethla again.Just a short walk to the front and just a little longer to the harbour.Bus stops are just round the corner from Kethla House which was so convenient.

Reviewer:Mrs Ann Wharfe | Sat 23rd Sep 2017


Diane from Toronto - Rating 4/5

Kethla House was very welcoming, comfortable and an easy walk to everything in Torquay and to the South West Coast Path.I would highly recommend it.

Reviewer:Diane Rooke | Fri 15th Sep 2017


Fabulous stay - Rating 5/5

Just back from a weeks stay,made to feel very welcome by don and julie,hotel spotless,room comfy and breakfast delicious,all in all a thoroughly enjoyable experience,would/will recommend this hotel to eveyone,cheers,mark&viv

Reviewer:Mr. Mark Butcher | Sun 10th Sep 2017


Bank holiday break - Rating 5/5

Brian W73Pending review\"\"A superb B&B you must visitMany years later returning to Torquay we wanted to experience and reminice the true meaning of the traditional B&B in this wonderful location. Reading previous reviews we decided upon Kethla House, by no means were we disappointed the hosts Don and Julie are gems! lovely...More

Reviewer:Mr. brian wilkinson | Sun 10th Sep 2017


Lovely b & b- would definitely stay again - Rating 4/5

A lovely, comfortable room in an excellent location. Breakfast was delicious and made to order. A warm welcome awaits from Don and Julie. Would definitely stay again- we had a lovely time

Reviewer:Lindsey Bryson | Sat 2nd Sep 2017


weekend away - Rating 5/5

Would highly recommend best b&b we have stayed in

Reviewer:shirley suttton | Tue 29th Aug 2017


Lovely stay at Kethla House - Rating 4/5

We had a great time at the BB. Lovely room, tasty food and friendly couple. My 7 year old boy said \'cool place\'. They gave us a lot of information about the places to visit and we met their happy dog. Thanks Don and Julie.

Reviewer:Mrs Sideequat Dawodu | Mon 28th Aug 2017


Kath dexter - Rating 5/5

Don and julie made us very welcome they are very helpful and informative. Our room which was one of the family rooms as we had our grandson with us was spacious,comfortable and clean everything you could expect from your holiday, i would certainly recommend this establishment to friends and family.

Reviewer:Kathleen Dexter | Tue 22nd Aug 2017


Excellent B&B - Rating 5/5

Don and Julie were excellent hosts, very friendly and attentive, nothing was too much trouble. Room was lovely and clean, great to have WIFI. Breakfast was great, they catered for our every need. The beach was just 5 minutes walk away and there were plenty of places to eat in the vicinity. I would definitely visit Kethla House again.

Reviewer:Denise Skeete | Sun 20th Aug 2017


A lovely and friendly B+B in the heart of Torquay - Rating 5/5

We stayed here for a weeks holiday in August and had such a lovely stay. Don &Julie are fantastic hosts who accommodate everyone! They offered advice when we needed it, cooked an excellent breakfast and kept the rooms clean and tidy. This is a highly recommended B&B - the lovely owners could not do enough for us!Thank you both - we hope to see you again soon!!:)

Reviewer:Katie Presho | Fri 18th Aug 2017


Fantastic - We would highly recommend - Rating 5/5

Had the pleasure of staying at this B&B for just over a week.From the friendly greeting upon arrival to the minute we left, our experience was excellent.The rooms were nicely decorated and extremely clean.Breakfast was excellent.And the friendly nature of the owners just added to the overall experience.We would highly recommend to others.

Reviewer:michael ainsworth | Mon 14th Aug 2017


Excellent hotel- Rating 5/5

Excellent hotel lovely and clean, close to all amenities, family room was nice and big, thehotel owners were very friendly and helpful breakfast was great too the only thing there isn\'t much parking space around back of hotel but there is a 24hr car park nearby and it is cheap to park there for the 24hrs

Reviewer:Natasha Withers | Mon 14th Aug 2017


Great Place to stay- Rating 5/5

Lovely place to stay and a great location. Clean, comfortable and the owners really make you feel welcome. Couldn\'t fault it.

Reviewer:Lucie Morgan | Mon 14th Aug 2017


Hotel Kathia House- Rating 4/5

Lovely comfortable hotel, very clean good breakfast it was a pleasure to stay there.

Reviewer:Christina Peacock | Wed 9th Aug 2017


Kethla House - Rating 5/5

We had enjoyable stay here at Kethla House Don &Julie were the perfect hosts the room and bezbed was very clean and comfortable and I would recommend the breakfast it was excellent would certainly return again

Reviewer:Mrs. Jean Sherratt | Tue 8th Aug 2017


An excellent week spent in Torquay - Rating 5/5

Had a fabulous week staying in a family room,It was clean,very comfy beds and the breakfasts were suberb!! Don and Julie were excellent hosts abd very welcoming.I wouuld recommend Kethla house to anyone wanting to stay in Torquay...a fabulous B&B and a fabulous holiday!!!!

Reviewer:malcolm nicol | Sun 6th Aug 2017


enjoyable stay - Rating 5/5

friendly hosts(get don on to football!).Clean rooms and very good breakfasts.Enjoyable stay.

Reviewer:Mr. david andrews | Sun 30th Jul 2017


Stay at Kethla House - Rating 4/5

Our stay was enjoyable, close to town and all facilities.Don and Julie were lovely couple, they made us very welcome.Breakfast was first class. would not hesitate staying there again.

Reviewer:Susan Wilson | Wed 26th Jul 2017


Exceptional Bed and Breakfast- Rating 5/5

Our second fabulous stay at Kethla House 😄Don and Julie are exceptional hosts.Nothingwas too much trouble ,and my son (16) and I were well looked after.Breakfast was very good and the staggered breakfast times meant we got a lie in.Don and Julie gave us lots of lots of local information and advice about places to visit/eat etc.Great location and would definitely recommend.We will be back next year 😄

Reviewer:Sue Cooper | Mon 24th Jul 2017


Very pleasant stay - Rating 5/5

Julie and Don the proprietors are a friendly and helpful couple who made us very welcome.The breakfasts were very tasty and our en-suite room was clean/well furnished and the bed was comfortable. All round an enjoyable stay.

Reviewer:PAUL Smith | Mon 10th Jul 2017


Kethla House - Rating 5/5

A well run house Julie &Don could not have been more helpful Comfortable room &nice breakfast Only regret is that we didn\'t stay longer

Reviewer:Keith Goswell | Tue 4th Jul 2017


Fantastic Place to Stay !! - Rating 5/5

we were welcomed at the door and helped to our room with our bags.The house was spotless, beds comfy, and the breakfast was lovely.Would recommend Kethla House to anyone visiting Torquay. the owners are warm and friendlyParking close by at £3.00 for 24 hours, short walk to the town, shops, harbour, restraunts and bars.

Reviewer:Michelle Lee | Tue 4th Jul 2017


Holiday Break - Rating 4/5

We had a good time at the Hotel. The room was very satisfactory and the facilities were first class. The breakfast each morning was substantial and of good quality. The hosts were also very friendly and hospitable.

Reviewer:Mr. Robin Jones | Sat 24th Jun 2017


Another enjoyable stay - Rating 5/5

another enjoyable stay at Kethla House. Don and Julie are good hosts and want you to enjoy your stay so go the extra mile. Breakfast is good. The premises is well maintained and they have recently done some refurbishment. Its a short walk to the shops and just a little further on to the harbour. The England family

Reviewer:Helen England | Mon 19th Jun 2017


Kethla house- Rating 4/5

Friendly, spotlessly clean, comfortable, great location and a lovely home cooked breakfast, thanks Din and Julie for a great couple of days in Torquay

Reviewer:Louise Randall | Wed 31st May 2017


Kethla House - Rating 5/5

Don &Julie made us very welcome nothing was to much trouble. Really great breakfast. They are the sort of people that make you feel really at ease. We would certainly recommend their bed &breakfast for a long or short stay. Thank you both for looking after us so well.

Reviewer:Malcolm Watson | Sat 27th May 2017


good time had by all - Rating 5/5

the welcome we received from the owners was excellent,the rooms were clean and comfortable,the breakfast was very good,I could not find any faults with this property and would highly recommend the hotel to other people looking to stay in Torquay

Reviewer:David BIDDLE | Fri 12th May 2017


ROVERS RETURN - EXCELLENT - Rating 5/5

Excellent B&B in a great location close to the town,harbour and the beach. The Kethla has enjoyed a re-vamp, the rooms are extremely clean and tidy and have all the amenities that you would expect. The full English breakfast is excellent as are the host Don &Julie, who work hard to make the Kethla such a welcoming establishment - thankyou for making our return [32 years later] such a happy one. UTG see you next season!!G&T Bristol U.K.

Reviewer:Gary Gayner | Mon 8th May 2017


kethlahouse- Rating 5/5

a very clean and comfortable guest house. the owners julie and Don can\'t do enough for you the breakfast sets you up for the day, very comfortable beds.

Reviewer:Mr. andrew harris | Wed 3rd May 2017


Weekend away- Rating 5/5

We had a lovely stay the Kethla house hotel. Don and Julie were a great host

Reviewer:Debbie Kennedy | Tue 2nd May 2017


May day weekend stay - Rating 5/5

This was our third stay at The Kethla, and it just gets better. Beautiful well maintained and spotlessly clean acomodation, and a warm and very friendly welcome. Don and Julie run a wonderful hotel, not forgetting Julie\'s wonderful breakfasts. xxx

Reviewer:Mrs Sharon Skerrett | Mon 1st May 2017


Torquay stay - Rating 4/5

Nice relaxing stay at Kethla House Don &Julie do make you welcome and just let you go on and enjoy your break with minimum of fuss.Bill &Liz.

Reviewer:Mr Bill Gardener | Fri 28th Apr 2017


Lovely stay- Rating 5/5

Fantastic weekend and great stay.Room was very clean.Location is perfect.

Reviewer:Anna Zagozda | Tue 18th Apr 2017


value for money- Rating 4/5

enjoyed our brief stay despite the difficult start in locating the b&b! Its very clean and comfortable and enjoyed the breakfasts

Reviewer:suet keogh | Mon 17th Apr 2017


Wonderful - Rating 5/5

Really comfortable beds, friendly atmosphere and great breakfast

Reviewer:Louise Tope | Mon 27th Mar 2017


Excellent accommodation- Rating 5/5

Excellent accommodation very clean and nicely decorated.don and julie make you very welcome. Breakfast is very nice.Would book again this year 2017

Reviewer:Ann Goodman | Tue 3rd Jan 2017


2 night stay - Rating 4/5

Good location, nice hosts, accommodation was good and a nice breakfast.

Reviewer:Steve Ursell | Wed 7th Dec 2016


Don and julie great hosts- Rating 5/5

We have stayed here before Don and Julie took over and loved it but this time was even better they could not have done more for us if they tried, lovely room spot on full Englishsee you again soon guys thanks for a great time

Reviewer:Adam Sutton | Mon 5th Dec 2016


Kethla house - Rating 5/5

We recently stopped for 2 nights at this bed and breakfast establishment we found that from the moment we arrived we was made to feel so welcome nothing was to much trouble for Don and Julie helping us in with our luggage on arrival etc.Room was spacious and clean and bigger than expected.The breakfast was superb.Service first class would definitely stay there again.

Reviewer:Karen Keasey | Thu 1st Dec 2016


very worthwhile. - Rating 5/5

Lovely hospitality, very nice. Premisessituated quite close to amenities. Very clean , very tidy. Good value. Would gladly stay again and reccomend to others . First Class.

Reviewer:Ann EDGELLER | Mon 28th Nov 2016


Weekend Stay - Rating 5/5

Great hosts, couldn\'t have been more helpful, very clean and would recommend to anyone . Great Breakfast , thanks for making our stay special

Reviewer:Mr. LESROSE | Mon 21st Nov 2016


kethle house- Rating 4/5

A most enjoyable stay all 4 of us really relaxing time and hope to return soon

Reviewer:David Hannaford | Mon 31st Oct 2016


Nice setting, friendly staff - Rating 4/5

We had a pleasant 2 night stay, nice and quiet despite being fully booked and we would stay again.

Reviewer:Thomas Nichols | Sun 30th Oct 2016


Beautiful- Rating 5/5

Beautiful couple, rooms were excellent clean and fresh, breakfast was fantastic, being made very welcome, helping with my mother in on arrival. Being free to come and go as we pleased.Thank you very much, look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewer:Karen Wills | Sun 30th Oct 2016


Breakfast- Rating 5/5

Thank you very much, a lovely room,excellent breakfast. Will book you again.

Reviewer:Richard Wills | Sun 30th Oct 2016


Happy times- Rating 5/5

Had very pleasant and enjoyable stay. Clean tidy a very well kept b&b whith plesent staff which may the stay great also great breakfast to! Much appreciated many thanks..

Reviewer:JAMES BROWN | Mon 17th Oct 2016


Time to unwind - Rating 5/5

Kethla house is a clean comfortable quiet retreat\'ideal for relaxation. Julie and Don made my friend and me feel very welcome and we\'re very attentive to our needs. They were so friendly and very knowledgeable about the area in order to help advise us regarding where to go and what to see. I would happily stay there again.

Reviewer:Corinne Wong-Foster | Thu 13th Oct 2016


Great stay - Rating 5/5

We came back to The Kethla after staying here before..on arriving we realised a new couple had taken over. Don &Julie are absolutely great hosts, nothing to much trouble, rooms clean and comfortable..breakfast choice was great and a good start to the day..as new hosts to this job i don\'t think they will go wrong. AbsolutelyrecommendKethla House to go &stay, if you don\'t like it then all i can say is..you must be hard to please!! I feel we made new friends here &will be returning. Good Luck Don &Julie in your new venture

Reviewer:Neil Jenkins | Tue 27th Sep 2016


torquay break- Rating 5/5

just returned from a weekend break at the kethla the best b&b we have stayed in the rooms were very clean and spacious the breakfast was first class don and julie made us feel very welcome thank you both

Reviewer:Mrs J Taylor | Tue 13th Sep 2016


Fabulous - Rating 5/5

The kethla house is lovely itsvery clean and looks very fresh don and julie are great hosts nothing is too much trouble for thwm the food is lovely and its idealy situated

Reviewer:Mrs. lisa bower | Fri 2nd Sep 2016


Kethla House - Rating 5/5

A lovely room. Very friendly atmosphere and great service

Reviewer:Mr S Rourke | Tue 30th Aug 2016


Kethla House Hotel - Rating 5/5

We spent 4 nights at Kethla House, Don and Julie were so welcoming and friendly, the hotel was spotless, lovely comfortable bed, a shower that was easy to adjust. The breakfast was well presented and cooked to perfection... Served with a smile, nothing was too much bother. Would Definately stay here again,

Reviewer:Thomas Hamilton | Tue 30th Aug 2016


Birthday week in Torquay - Rating 4/5

We really enjoyed our stay at Kethla House. Don and Julie are wonderful hosts and keep a tidy and clean establishment.A homely B&B where we were made to feel really welcome and would definitely recommend it.

Reviewer:Yvonne Campbell | Thu 25th Aug 2016


Warm welcome - Rating 5/5

Our stay was only for a couple of nights, but Don and Julie were reallyfriendly andwelcoming (even going to the trouble of purchasing wholemeal bread and skimmed milk just for us). The room was clean and the bed was comfortable.We would not hesitate to stay there again.

Reviewer:Ann-Marie Patience | Mon 22nd Aug 2016


Our 4 night stay - Rating 5/5

We have had a fantastic stay here. Don &Julie have made us feel so welcome. The breakfast was lovely &there was a great choice for our 6 yr old too. We were downstairs in a large room which had everything we needed. We will definitely be staying again.

Reviewer:Miss Karen Holt | Sun 7th Aug 2016


Lovely Stay - Rating 5/5

Kethla hse is a welcoming B&B. Spotlessly clean, modern and the hosts are very friendly and accommodating. Well situated with safe parking and local pubs and eateries. We had a Wonderful break and would certainly stay again.

Reviewer:Mr. Steve Adams | Tue 2nd Aug 2016


July 2016 - Rating 5/5

Stayed 4 nights in family room children 16 &12 had bunk beds which were full single size. En-suite &room facilities were excellent as was the amazing cooked breakfasts. Julie &Don were fabulous hosts nothing too much trouble. We would definitely stay again. Location for Torquay centre was ideal.

Reviewer:Mrs Judith Andrew | Sun 31st Jul 2016


Fantastic stay with Don and Julie who go that extra mile👍🏼 - Rating 5/5

Stayed with my 15yr old son and have nothing but praise for Don and Julie starting from the time we booked!Spotlessly clean and lots of attention to detail.Excellent breakfast, and even prepared a bacon and sausage sandwich for my son when he was too tired to get up one morning!Would definitely recommend, excellent,location, , 10 min walk to beach and harbour and local shops. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Miss Sue Cooper | Tue 26th Jul 2016


Holiday - Rating 5/5

Had a lovely time in Torquay Don and Julie were very helpful and made us both very welcome. We can highly recommend Kethla House friendly and good food! Good location handy for all amenities .

Reviewer:Mr Rob Evans | Sun 17th Jul 2016


Thoroughly pleasant stay at this lovely b&b - Rating 5/5

We were visiting Torquay for a few of days in June, we had accommodation for one night but hadn\'t booked anywhere for the second night. We had our young son with us &we\'re hoping to find a nice b&b to accommodate us all, which is exactly what we found! The room was spacious, comfortable &clean. Such a good price. We were with out 19 month old son &he loved it too. The owners were very nice &welcoming. Breakfast was amazing! We would definitely go back in the future.

Reviewer:Mrs Wickham | Sat 2nd Jul 2016


lovely stay - Rating 4/5

Had a lovely warm welcome . Room was lovely and little extras such as cotton buds in bathroom was a nice little touch . Breakfast was really lovely , would definately recommend a stay here

Reviewer:Mrs. maggie kelly | Fri 1st Jul 2016


Short Break - Rating 5/5

On arrival we received a very warm welcome, our room was very clean and comfortable. Good selection for breakfast , very good full English to start the day.Don and Julie made our stay very enjoyable , we will certainly return to Kethla House in the very near future

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs Littlefield | Fri 24th Jun 2016


Review - Rating 5/5

a very warm welcome from the new owners of Kethla House. Nothing was too much trouble. Really friendly and accommodating. Comfortable beds and everything is sooo clean and well presented. We are visiting again soon.

Reviewer:Helen England | Mon 20th Jun 2016


Excellent stay - Rating 4/5

Was a good stay in Kethla house for short notice.Don and Julie were fantastic hosts especially Julie\'s breakfast.I would recommend people to check out this place !!The place is close to the sea front and harbour with walking distance to many tourist locations!!

Reviewer:Mr Raghava Parashurama | Mon 6th Jun 2016


Short half term break - Rating 5/5

We booked for 2 nights with Don and Julie and were extremely happy with all aspects of our stay. Both Don and Julie are lovely people who took great care of us. Our room was spotlessly clean and the breakfast was faultless. The house is in good walking distance to the front and there are many good places to eat out at within a 10- 15min walk. We will be booking here again and would recommend to anyone.... I\'m not just saying that. I\'m quite a fussy person. Many thanks. X

Reviewer:Mrs Aimee Critchley | Sun 5th Jun 2016


Yvonne S. Wales- Rating 5/5

Fabulous welcome and service , very clean and comfortable . Lovely breakfast too ! Will definitely go back .

Reviewer:Mrs Yvonne Combellack | Wed 1st Jun 2016


Short break - Rating 5/5

Lovely comfortable room, sensational breakfast and good hosts, looking forward to returning for another break. Thank you

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs Warwick | Thu 5th May 2016


Well worth a look. - Rating 5/5

We had a fantastic welcome at the Kethla, a very comfortable Hotel. The rooms are generous and have everything you need. Very tasty breakfast.

Reviewer:Mrs Sharon Skerrett | Wed 4th May 2016


Great B&B - Rating 5/5

It is clean, comfortable, with very friendly and attentive hosts. The breakfast is very good. Had reserved parking. Close to the seafront. Don and Julie were very welcoming and not only did we get a free upgrade, but also tickets to Kent\'s caves and loads of tips on local places to visit. Great stay! Thoroughly recommend it.

Reviewer:Dr Ranjini Mohan | Sun 3rd Apr 2016


Kethla House - Rating 5/5

Lovely clean well presented B&B with superb service from all staff. Room very clean and spacious with plenty of space for our family of 4.Highly recommended for accomodation for Torquay / Paignton / Goodrington.

Reviewer:Mr Stuart Doughty | Thu 31st Mar 2016


First class service and beautiful and delightful place to stay. - Rating 5/5

My partner and I stayed at Kethla house with our young daughter for a short weekend trip away. We were thrilled with the accommodation and were so well looked after. The room itself was immaculately presented, modern, clean, light, airy and with a tasteful colour scheme. The owners blew us away with their hospitality. They were friendly, warming and personable - really lovely people who would have gone out of their way to make our stay the best it could be. My partner had a five star home cooked breakfast and the dining room was equally as nice to sit in having been well presented and perfectly clean and bright. The owners took real care of us, were very attentive to detail and were thoughtful towards our two year old daughter. We couldn\'t have asked for anything more and would recommend Kethla house to anyone. We left feeling really happy and would go back and stay there again without a doubt.

Reviewer:Miss Bethany Sweeney | Mon 21st Mar 2016


Kethla House - Rating 4/5

We enjoyed our stay at Kethla House earlier this year. Lovely rooms, tastefully furnished, delicious breakfasts and very friendly and accommodating hosts, Julie and Don.Good location, short stroll to beach and shops.

Reviewer:Mr. Michael Haynes | Sun 28th Feb 2016


A must stay- Rating 5/5

Had a wonderful three night stay.Fantastic welcomeby husband &wife team . Clean and comfy bedrooms with a freshly cookedEnglishbreakfast .We can\'t wait for return visit.Thank you again

Reviewer:Mr Biddlecombe | Tue 2nd Feb 2016


Fantastic! - Rating 5/5

This was our second visit to Kethla House. We loved it the first time and we loved the second time.On arrival we found out that the hotel had new owners...Don &Julie were the perfect hosts. Our room was beautiful and the breakfast was out of this world.We can\'t wait to stay with you again.Thanks for a great weekend!

Reviewer:Lisa Fairclough | Fri 22nd Jan 2016


Summer holiday at Kethla House - Rating 5/5

We stayed the second time in Kethla House and we had a great stay. The rooms are clean and the breakfast is very good. Lisa and Andy are friendly and helpful we felt very comfortable. With best regards Marion and André

Reviewer:Mrs. Marion Nieser | Thu 3rd Sep 2015


Excellent - Rating 5/5

had a wonderful stay. Excellent accommodation and breakfast. Thank you

Reviewer:Mr. Alanplant | Sun 30th Aug 2015


Great Stay - Rating 4/5

Stayed here for a week, Lisa &Andy were very welcoming and know lots about the area and gave some great recommendations of places to visit and they were spot on about the cream teas. Room was lovely and the breakfast are great. The house always smelt wonderful.

Reviewer:Mrs Boultby | Fri 7th Aug 2015


An Excellent base to enjoy Torquay - Rating 5/5

I had a very comfortable stay. The owners went out of their way to accommodate us from the check-in, breakfast, room requirements, ..etc.It was a pleasure to stay with them. I am definitely going to come back again. Thank you Lisa and Andy.

Reviewer:Mr. Waleed Al-Rwaishan | Mon 11th May 2015


A Hidden Gem - Rating 5/5

I travel around the world, a lot. I have stayed in hotels of all shapes and sizes, from £20 a night to £500 quid a night in Mayfair. But the one thing those places did not have which Kethla house does, is Andy and Lisa. They were the perfect hosts from the moment I arrived and were very attentive in the service they provided throughout my stay there. They reminded my why I hate staying in hotels that are part of a chain. No cold, \"it\'s just a job\"customer service, role play form them. They were genuine, down to earth and sincere in every aspect of the service they provided. Yes, to an extent they do so because they want you to come back. That\'s the name of the game in such guest houses. But when you get the kind of personal, friendly approach they provide then why would you not want to go back? The room I stayed in was excellent and serviced daily. The breakfasts were excellent. And Lisa gave me directions to the handmade chocolate factory in Cockington! What more can a guest ask for! When I left it felt like I had made friends with two very nice people rather than simply stayed at a hotel in Torquay. The next time I need a room in Torquay, Kethla House is the place I will head straight for.

Reviewer:Mr. Michael Wright | Mon 23rd Mar 2015


What a great place to stay - Rating 5/5

You could not find nicer people, a more comfortable room and such a convenient location. We were treated like friends and will certainly be returning.

Reviewer:Mr. David Green | Tue 23rd Sep 2014


Great Stay - Rating 5/5

We have just returned from a great weekend at Kethla House Torquay. From the moment we arrived we were treated so well by Andy and Lisa, nice touch to ask our first names and to remember them too. Lovely breakfast, you are offered full English or whatever you fancy, they go out of their way to please. You have tea and coffee making facilities in the room which was refilled daily. The hotel is spotlessly clean, serviced every day. Andy and Lisa went out of their way to ensure our comfort and enjoyment during our weekend and were very helpful as to what to go and see. There is also free wifi. We were able to park at the rear of the hotel All in all a wonderful experience and we would certainly recommend Kethla House. We hope to be able to make a return visit in the near future

Reviewer:Mr. Nick Gell | Wed 17th Sep 2014


Phantasic Stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent breakfast, super clean room and excellent service - Lisa and Andy are great hosts !

Reviewer:Mr. Bernd Kriegl | Wed 27th Aug 2014


Riviera Gem - Rating 5/5

This is a real gem! Hosts couldn't do more, the room was so clean and breakfasts are lovely, Kethla is a friendly, relaxed B &B Andy and Lisa are great and they should be proud of this little gem. Close to the Harbour its affords an ideal simple walk to the Riviera Centre, would recommend to anyone visiting Torquay it cant be beat! See you both soon.

Reviewer:Maureen & John Lawson | Mon 18th Aug 2014


Kethla House Stay - Rating 5/5

What a great little place Lovely and Clean Good Breakfasts and Andy and Lisa are a delightful couple and made us feel very welcome.Would recommend

Reviewer:Mrs. Amanda Cooper | Fri 1st Aug 2014


A fantastic B&B - Rating 5/5

We've just returned from a 3-night stay. Lisa and Andy were very welcoming and the room (serviced daily) was excellent. Although we only had one breakfast, it was lovely. the B&B is only a short walk from the main shopping area and the beach. I would highly recommend to anybody for a short stay - it's great value for money.

Reviewer:Mr. Michael Miller | Wed 30th Jul 2014


July 2014 - Rating 5/5

Stayed here mid week for one nightas I normally use large hotel chains and the thing I noticed most was how spotlessly clean everything was. The owners were friendly and very helpful with the location only a stroll away from the seafront and shops , food etc. thoroughly recommend it well done.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul Woodley | Thu 24th Jul 2014


lovely stay! - Rating 5/5

Had a lovely 2 night stay, with a very warm welcome. Lisa even put a couple of wine glasses in our room when she spotted we had a bottle of wine waiting for the evening :)

Reviewer:Miss. Clare Durbin | Fri 11th Jul 2014


Perfect Holiday - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our stay here a lot. The rooms were tidy and clean, the breakfast was very good and we have never felt so much at home before. Thanks to Lisa and Andy!!

Reviewer:Ms. Michaela Huber | Tue 8th Jul 2014


A brilliant place to stay - Rating 5/5

Lisa and Andy made us both feel very welcome, nothing is too much trouble for them. I am a coeliac and they catered for my needs, the rooms are spotless and very comfortable and the breakfasts are amazing. I have stayed at Kethla house before and will be returning later in the year, we can't rate it highly enough

Reviewer:Mrs. Amanda Brockman | Mon 16th Jun 2014


fantanstic - Rating 5/5

Just got back, what a welcome the staff couldnt do enough lovely clean room with beautiful en suite , great breakfast , I would definitely stay there again .

Reviewer:Mr. Adam Sutton | Mon 9th Jun 2014


Highly recommended :) - Rating 5/5

Stayed at Kethla House for 2 nights. Lisa and Andy were friendly, helpful and accommodating from the off. Room was spotlessly clean, and suited our needs perfectly. Lovely cooked breakfast. Plus one of the very few places we've eaten at with our 12 month old daughter that has a 'clean' high chair! Good location ...5 minute stroll to seafront. Thank you both :)

Reviewer:Mr. David Godwin | Sun 6th Apr 2014


Fab! - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely stay at Kethla House! Both Lisa and Andy were really welcoming and friendly... Rooms was spacious and the bed was really comfortable. Breakfast was perfect! Will definitely be staying again...

Reviewer:Mrs. Nikki Booth | Tue 11th Mar 2014


1 in a million - Rating 5/5

We only decided to book the evening before, but are so glad we did. When we arrived our room was upgraded. Lisa was very welcoming and told us several plans to eat.Breakfast was great. We intend returning as soon as possible

Reviewer:Ms. Helen Shaw | Mon 3rd Feb 2014


Our Stay two nights... - Rating 5/5

Simply put. A wonderful nights stay, kids Grand Parents happy &that's a tough crowd to please.

Reviewer:Mr. Francis Weier| Sun 12th Jan 2014


Very enjoyable stay - Rating 5/5

We had a very warm welcome at Kethla House. Lisa and Andy were very helpful friendly and informative. Room was comfortable and nice large shower. Would definitely stay there again.

Reviewer:Mr. Stephen Turner | Tue 5th Nov 2013


Autumn school holiday- Rating 4/5

We were warmly welcomed and shown to our very clean and nicely laid out room. We stayed for five nights and Lisa and Andy were very attentive with daily servicing to the room, regular towel change and a delicious breakfast was served every morning. The hosts had good local knowledge and were very helpful. We will definitely stay again should we visit Torquay in the future.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul West | Sat 2nd Nov 2013


Great Stay - Rating 5/5

fantastic break at kethla House. We usually stay at big name chain hotels but after our stay here we will never go back to them. Andy &Lisa were brilliant hosts &the B&B itself was spotless &well run. We will definitely return . A pleasure to stay with you both.

Reviewer:Miss. Lisa Williams | Sun 20th Oct 2013


A week in Torquay ..... - Rating 5/5

We stayed for a week at Ke'thla and Lisa and Andrew were the perfect hosts, friendly and obliging. The twin room we stayed in was spotless, Lisa changed the bed linen and towels after 3 days which was nice. Ke'thla is situated close to all amenities including newsagents, a great cake shop and pub with reasonably priced eveningmeals. Parking to the rear of the house made it an ideal base for exploring South Devon. We would certainly stay again and would recommend to anyone visiting Torquay.

Reviewer:Mrs. Joanna Pizzilli | Sat 28th Sep 2013


Late Break - Rating 5/5

My husband is now a B&B convert after many years of the "Old style"B&B he has had his eyes opened and we both had a superb stay with Andy &Lisa, the perfect hosts, bags taken to our spotless, very comfy room, oodles of local information at hand with discount vouchers, superly cooked breakfast, and may I say super soft toilet paper. What else could you wish for?

Reviewer:Mrs. Jane Hutton | Sat 21st Sep 2013


Kethla House - Rating 5/5

Great break away,house very clean and welcoming.Attention to detail very good,thoughtful child sized cutlery,and child booster seat at breakfast ( not needed seat our 3yr old refused to sit in) a named parking cone for carpark,which reserved us a space on arrival,very handy with young children &luggage etc

Reviewer:Mrs. Heather Kingdon | Wed 4th Sep 2013


Kethla House- Rating 5/5

Our 3rd visit to Ketha House and we are never disappointed with the accommodation. Andy and Lisa are wonderful and there isn't anything that they wouldn't do for you. Breakfast was excellent and we are planning to return to Kethla House next year.

Reviewer:Dottie & Brian Abbott | Mon 2nd Sep 2013


Ke'tla House - Rating 5/5

Very good reception and excellent service.Very good value for money if you look for class.Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Mr. Jacob Hattingh | Mon 26th Aug 2013


fantastic - Rating 5/5

Kethla house has a very warm atmosphere and we felt very comfortable there. Lisa and Andy are very friendly and their breakfast is great!

Reviewer:Mrs. Marion Nieser | Wed 14th Aug 2013


July 2013 in Torquay - Rating 5/5

The 4th time we have stayed at Kethla House, and once again an absolute pleasure. Our room was absolutely spotless and the cooked breakfast delicious. Lisa and Andy are fabulous hosts, it felt more like visiting friends than staying at a guest house. Can't wait to go back.

Reviewer:Mandy & Clive Hathaway | Sun 28th Jul 2013


Hot Weekend - Rating 5/5

I would just like to thank Andy and Lisa for their welcome to their hotel.they made my and my friends stay with them quite memorable.The hotel was spotless, room very adequate and the breakfasts out of this world...and plenty of it. Thanks Gill

Reviewer:Mrs. Gillian White | Sun 28th Jul 2013


Perfect - Rating 5/5

Lisa &Andy are lovely people who made us very welcome, and catered for our every need. Perfectly located, only minutes from the sea front and well within walking distance of the town and harbour. Would not hesitate to stay with them again when returning to Torquay. Thank you Lisa &Andy!

Reviewer:Mr. Kevin Pulfer | Wed 24th Jul 2013


A brilliant stay - Rating 5/5

We can't speak highly enough of our stay at Kethla House. I stayed there with my mum and nothing was too much trouble. It was spotlesslyclean and breakfast was cooked to perfection. Andy and Lisa made us feel very welcome and paid great attention to detail. I look forward to returning with my husband

Reviewer:Mrs. Amanda Brockman | Sat 20th Jul 2013


Thank you - Rating 5/5

Just returned from a weeks holiday in Torquay staying at Kethla House.Lisa and Andrew made us feel very welcome, and nothing was a problem for them.There B&B is spotless we hope we can return again in the near future and would not hesitate to recommend them to family and friends.Thank you again.

Reviewer:Mrs Lindsay Patrick | Sun 14th Jul 2013


Brilliant - Rating 5/5

Once again we had a brilliant time in Torquay, glorious weather and we really enjoyed our stay at Kethla House with Lisa and Andy. Our room was beautiful, spacious and spotless. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast every morning and nothing was too much trouble for our hosts who are so welcoming. See you next year!

Reviewer:Mr. Dean Waterworth | Sat 13th Jul 2013


Lovely! - Rating 5/5

Had a great weekend break in Torquay and pleased we stayed in Kethla House - Lisa and Andy are great and the accomdoation is spotless.Will definitely return one day.

Reviewer:Mr Gareth Ponting | Tue 2nd Jul 2013


Kethla House- Rating 4/5

Impeccably clean, great full breakfast, parking- a few at the back of the B &B but we parked locally 100 yards on street for free. Easy to get to theharbour or shops walking.Room and bathroom sizes OK.Really good price for all this. Thanks.

Reviewer:Mr. Chris Hall | Mon 1st Jul 2013


stay 21/6/13 - Excellent - Rating 5/5

Could not fault it.Friendly hosts. establishment spotlessly clean. Breakfast of good quality and well presented.Would recommend it to anyone

Reviewer:Mr Carl Harrison| Mon 24th Jun 2013


Lovely stay, will visit again! - Rating 5/5

Lisa and Andy are great hosts, the B&B is spotlessly clean and very comfortable,we enjoyed amazing breakfasts everyday and they recommended some brilliant places for us to visit in the area. Prime location, easy walking distance to the harbour and shops. Cant wait to return!

Reviewer:Mr. Callum Aldrich | Sun 23rd Jun 2013


Wonderful Holiday - Rating 5/5

Thank you again Lisa &Andy for another wonderful stay at your b&b. Once again you went beyond the call of duty for my mother. Everything about you &your b&b is perfect. We will definitely be returning for a fourth time.

Reviewer:Mrs. Iris Melhuish | Sun 16th Jun 2013


Thanks - Rating 5/5

We stay at hotels all the time for business midweek so was lovely to come somewhere where they new your name and wanted to ensure your stay was the best it could be. Thanks

Reviewer:Mrs. Erica Hammacott | Sat 25th May 2013


Stay at Torquay - Rating 5/5

Good place and very welcome.

Reviewer:Mr. Pedrau Laurent | Thu 9th May 2013


Very good B & B - Rating 4/5

A warm welcome, extremely clean throughout and warm at all times. The breakfast was excellent and we would not hesitate a return to Kethla house the next time we go to Torquay.

Reviewer:Mr. Peter Neale | Fri 12th Apr 2013


Ideal Location - Rating 5/5

Lovely breakfast, room spotlessly clean and hosts Lisa and Andy couldn't do enough for us.We had to leave early to go home and didn't have time for the full breakfast so Lisa even offered to make a bacon sarnie to take for the journey.

Reviewer:Mr. Stephen Henning | Tue 19th Mar 2013


One to keep a note of - Rating 5/5

I can't commend Kethla House highly enough. Expect genuine service with a genuine smile. Even for a lone traveller for one night, I was offered alternative parking (their own spaces were occupied) and an early breakfast - on a Saturday! No need to look anywhere else when next in or near Torquay. Excellent!

Reviewer:Mr Steve Swinden | Sun 4th Nov 2012


Made our holiday - Rating 5/5

FAWLTY TOWERS LIVES ON!.................But not here. ……….We stayed atthe KETHLA guest house in Torquay for eight nights in Sept . From our initial wonderful welcome from Lisa and Andy to our last breakfast and our reluctant departure everything was just as it should be. Our room was immaculately prepared and was serviced to the same high standard each day. Breakfasts were brilliant, with a choice of drinks available, and our hosts were prepared to offer less well known alternatives to suit the individual. The attention to detail, their willingness and enthusiasm to help was a master class in guest satisfaction. In the virtual world we live in it is possible to almost visit a place without actually going, what you cannot see or assess is the happy factor and this guest house had it in bucket loads. The measure of a place like this is, would you recommend it to your best friends? Would you go back? A very big yes to both. A quick scan through the visitor book will confirm our opinion.Thank you Andy and Lisa for playing a big part in the success of our holiday.

Reviewer:Mr Nick Dainton | Sun 16th Sep 2012


re:kethla house - Rating 5/5

very friendly clean hotel had a fantastic stay and would definitely return and reccomend

Reviewer:Mr. Paul Howarth | Sun 16th Sep 2012


Fab Break - Rating 5/5

Lovely clean B&B with great hosts who are very welcoming. Family room was a good size with a great en-suite. Great location for local trips or exploring the riviera.Superb breakfast with ample choice, very accomodating, thankyou!

Reviewer:Mrs Kristina Smith & Family | Mon 3rd Sep 2012


Fantastic! - Rating 5/5

booked fairly last minute so very pleased to have booked such a lovely B&B. Lisa and Andy were very welcoming and accommodating. The room was spacious enough for the four of us with a lovely clean en-suite shower room. An enjoyable stay and would love to return.

Reviewer:Mr. Steven Miller | Thu 30th Aug 2012


Perfect - Rating 5/5

Lisa &Andrew couldn't have been more helpful. They made our stay very enjoyable and we couldn't fault the accommodation, food or their service in any way. It was a perfect place to stay with perfect hosts !!!This was our 2nd time at Kethla House &we would love to return again.

Reviewer:Mr. Michael Whitehouse | Sun 12th Aug 2012


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

What lovely people Lisa and Andy are, the place is spotless and Lisa cooks a great breakfast, thanks for making our stay a pleasure

Reviewer:Mrs. Sally Robbins | Sun 1st Jul 2012


Fantastic time... - Rating 5/5

Warm welcome, always helpful and taking care of their guests, clean and comfortable rooms, ideal location, has been the first visit but not the last!

Reviewer:Mrs. Jutta Schleißing | Sat 16th Jun 2012


““Great Choice..”” - Rating 5/5

Just returned form Torquay after 3 days what a friendly welcoming from Lisa &Andy the B&B was more than we expected the rooms were spotless and a pleasure to use rooms were kept clean and tidy &you get a decent breakfast in the morning which was very nice. Lisa and Andy went out of their way to make us welcome. The B &B is very well located we traveled by train only 5 minutes walk from the rail station the shops were just a few minutes away &only 10 minutes walkaway to the Harbour We would highly recommend this B&B to anyone staying in Torquay. We like to thank Lisa &Andy for such a enjoyable stay.We Would stay here againStayed April 2012

Reviewer:Mr. Bobby Corney | Tue 10th Apr 2012


Lovely guest house with personal service - Rating 5/5

We were really impressed with our stay at Kethla house from the warm welcome we received on our arrival through to the quality of the cooked breakfast the following morning. The owners are really friendly and obivously love their house. We would happily stay here again.

Reviewer:Miss. ImogenRead | Sun 18th Mar 2012


overnight stop - Rating 5/5

Lovely guesthouse, we very much enjoyed our brief stay. Thanks Lisa for looking after us andthe sound advise you gave us. All the best Paul &Sue

Reviewer:Mr. Paul Blackburn| Tue 24th Jan 2012


A1 Hospitality - Rating 5/5

Our second stay at Kethla secured on the basis of that rarity - first rate hospitality. Lisa and Andy have a very natural knack of making you feel at home, this coupled with impeccable cleanliness and very comfortable surroundings. Book with Kethla and forget your worries.

Reviewer:Mr Simon Watts | Mon 12th Dec 2011


mum and daughter holiday - Rating 5/5

kethla house,great warm welcome,fantastic breakfast,spotlessly clean,comfortable.this was our second stay and it was like staying with friends,would highly recommend it and will be going again.

Reviewer:Alicia & Sarah Forster | Sun 18th Sep 2011


summer holiday - Rating 5/5

Nice comfortable and clean guesthouse. Excellent breakfasts and friendly owners.Central location and we highly recommend it to anyone,we will definitely stay here again

Reviewer:Mr Charles Robinson | Thu 15th Sep 2011


Mr & Mrs - Rating 5/5

I rate Ke'thla House as an excelent place to stay,very frendley couple,excelent food,and very clean.My self and wife stayed there in 2010 and 2011 and will stay there again.

Reviewer:Eddie & Marion Proser | Sun 31st Jul 2011


excellent guest house. - Rating 5/5

We have just returned from our fourth visit in the last three years to this lovely little guest house.Lisa and Andy are the perfect hosts always making you very welcome and will go out of their way to make your stay there enjoyable. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and the breakfasts are excellent. We would have no hesitation in recommending Kethla House to anyone.

Reviewer:Jim & Marie Beale | Sat 16th Jul 2011


Lovely holiday - Rating 5/5

Myself and my wife spent a lovely two weeks at the Kethla House.From the moment we arrived when we were welcomed by Lisa to the moment we left, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.Andy and Lisa were very helpful in advising us of places we could attend and also lent a booklet to us about Devon and places to visit.Breakfasts were very nice and we had a choice as to what to have if we did not wish to have a full English breakfast and tea and toast were in plentiful supply.Our room was cleaned everyday and we had four changes of bed in the time we were staying at the Guest House.Clean towels were provided on a very regular basis.This helped with our enjoyment of the Guest House.We would recommend this Guest House to anyone stopping in Torquay and I would recommend the proprietors as two of the most helpful and nice people I have known to run holiday accommodation.We arrived as strangers and I believe we left as friends.Thank you Andy and Lisa for your hospitality.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul Wright | Thu 7th Jul 2011


We'll be back! - Rating 5/5

Our second stay at Kethla House. Once again a very warm welcome,a beautiful room which was spotlessly clean and a great vegetarian breakfast.Andy and Lisa made us feel very special by the gift of wine and a lovely card as we were celebrating our Silver Wedding Anniversary. Can't wait to go back.

Reviewer:Mandy & Clive Hathaway | Sun 3rd Jul 2011


excellent weekend - Rating 4/5

We stayed BB for three nights in a lovely large bedroom with good sized bathroom.the breakfasts were excellent.Andy and Lisa were friendly and helpful hosts.Andy kindly met us at the station and took us there when we left. Sue

Reviewer:Mrs Sue Allsop | Wed 22nd Jun 2011


a lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely guest house, very clean and homely. Just a short walk away from the sea front and attractions.Lisa and Andy went out of their way to be helpful, and made us feel welcome - they kindly reserved a parking space.Breakfast was good - freshly cooked, and a good selection of cereals/fruit juice etc.You won't be disappointed.

Reviewer:Mrs. Sally Lafford | Tue 21st Jun 2011


Very friendly - Rating 5/5

We found it very friendly and with high standers.Would recomend it to family and friends.

Reviewer:Miss Julie Desborough | Fri 17th Jun 2011


First Class - Rating 5/5

My Wife and I's stay at Ke'thla House was second to none. Nothing was to much trouble. The room we stayed in was first class. The breakfast was excellent. And you could not meet nicer Proprietors than Andrew and Lisa. I would recommend Ke'thla House to everybody.

Reviewer:Mr Brian Dixon | Sun 12th Jun 2011


ke'thla - Rating 4/5

very friendly, clean and accomodating

Reviewer:Dr Yosha Prasad - Colleague | Fri 20th May 2011


A Home from Home - Rating 5/5

A friendly welcome and a really nice stay. I was travelling on business and had a thoroughly relaxing evening - thank you

Reviewer:Mr Clive Spooner| Thu 19th May 2011


Found a Gem - Rating 5/5

This is our return visit and we travelled with our 8yr old niece. Lisa/Andy could not be more helpful and made it possible for us to bring our niece last minute. We are planning our next visit already. I must say that Kethla is the cleanest hotel we have ever stayed in. I am so glad that we discovered this gem and would strongly recommend it to anyone. Also, great location for visiting sites, you could leave your car and get around on foot or taxi which is located 2 minutes away. Main shops about 7 minutes walk away.

Reviewer:Brenda Hyde (Brenda & Rob) | Wed 4th May 2011


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Family Rooms
  • Wifi
  • Vegetarian
  • Walking Holidays